Menopause Discussion > Alternative Therapies

Reiki, interesting experience!

(1/4) > >>

Elliemay:
I used to work as a holistic therapist myself but had somehow bypassed reiki. I think I had a taster session once. I was feeling so bad with meno anxiety & depression that my friend offered me a session. She brought the massage bed round.i am too anxious to lie back & relax, the dog was barking at passers by and i was thinking it perhaps wasn't the right time! My body was totally fighting it, twitching and I had a big patch  of anxiety that felt like a slime monster from ghostbusters, hovering above the chest.

Now, I had tons of hypnotherapy in the past for anxiety and could never visualise anything but during reiki I was told to bring in any guides or whatever that may help. That was a bit much for my anxiety so I just imagined a white light.  All of a sudden, my Mum's face appeared in it, not like some glorious angel but really matter of fact basically telling me to let go of some childhood trauma (i had quite a bit) and it was all ok! It wasn't like a ghostly apparition I just took it to be repressed memories that were blocking something. Thing is that i started crying (something i find hard to do) so did the therapist!

Anyhow, I still have anxiety and mood swings but that was over a month ago and i still feel that something very deep rooted actually went away for ever in that session!

Just thought I'd mention it for those who have emotional pain issues. Definitely worth a try.

Ju Ju:
What a lovely experience! Just keep your Mums message at the back of your mind for whenever you feel overwhelmed.